- india's first & foremost horse racing portal

An Easy Win for Iaepetus

By Mirror Image | 27 Dec 2009 | HYDERABAD

Trainer S A Shehzad Abbas and Dr Syed Ainuddin Arif leading Iaepetus(T G Mclaughlin Up), Winner of The T. Chandrasekhar Reddy Memorial Cup

Iaepetus romped home in the T. Chandrasekar Reddy Memorial Cup, the main event of Sunday’s races at Hyderabad. The Sehzad Abbas trained 4 year-old gelding made every post a winning one over the mile trip. Vijayrath made a vain bid on entering the straight but Iaepetus extended the margin under the guidance of McLaughlin. Mission Chief and Carte Blanche filled the frame, with a hairline separating them. Coral Gables could not find foot and ended up beating just one in a field of eight. The ‘Champ’, who is going to turn ten with the ushering of the New Year, has had a chequered career and it is high time he is given an honourable exit.

The son of Razeen – Pearls of Thought, Power Colors impressed while winning the Loveable Princess Plate. Power Colors looked a picture in the paddock during the pre race parade. Powered by C. Ruzaan, he surged ahead of Alybro on the straight to score an impressive victory. Sorbitrate ran in an erratic fashion, banging on to the inner rails and disturbing quite a few runners, passing the 1000 metres. The favourite, Youre An Aeton, also took the brunt of Sorbitrate’s antics and lost position. Recovering from the shock Mclaughlin made his bid in the final furlong but was late to catch up and finished third.

Deshmukh, who trains Power Colors gave team ‘Vijay’ a double. Vijay Dhanush with a fluent gallop on the straight overhauled the leader Good Speed, to claim the higher division of the Andhra Sub-Area Trophy, the supporting event of the afternoon. Time On made a late bid in the final furlong but failed to get to the eventual winner and finished second. Feudal Lords, who was racing at the wrong end for most part of the race, came up with a stretched run to occupy the third spot.

The lower division was won by Silvester-trained Greek Fire. Silver Rose was in front right from the start with Greek Fire in chase along with Lavender Mist and Reality Show. As the field came inside the final 300 metres, Greek Fire surged ahead while Reality Show moved to finish second. Modest Pride put in a late run to get the third spot from the tiring Silver Rose.

Donald Netto won the opening and concluding races of the day. The top two market fancies, Manki and Welcome Baby started to fight out as the field entered the straight with the rest of the runners turning out to be just spectators. Imran Khan powered his run on Welcome Baby and the winner was spotted well before the winning post. Star Favours put in a spirited performance to get the higher division of the Silky Baby Plate, the concluding race of the day. In a close finish, Star Favours beat Zorbonaut and Ninja Power close to the winning post.

Imran Khan guided Lady Patricia in the lower division, to surge ahead in the jockey’s tally. Backed down as an ‘odds-on’ favourite, Lady Patricia settled in fourth position, behind Just Be Cool, Tiara and Title Shot till the final bend. On entering the straight, Imran pulled his mount on the outside and when asked for an effort, the ’Lady’ responded with a fluent run to score an encore. Tiara finished second while Title Shot and Just be Cool filled the frame.

Apple Valley was a bit lethargic at the start but made progress gradually, in the nine furlong trip, to run fourth behind Top Shape, Citi Dancer and Cannon Hunt as they entered the straight. Jockey Duran Fentiman made his move in the final furlong and Apple Valley responded well to win the race. Royal Bay put in a late run to end up as the runner up.

K.S.V. Prasad Raju’s Victory Signal justified the favouritism, to score an impressive win in the lower division of the Treasure Leaf Plate. Madho, Dartos The Muscle and Royal Quest filled the frame.