- india's first & foremost horse racing portal

Successor Proves to be a True Sprinter

By Mirror Image | 04 Feb 2012 | HYDERABAD

Trainer Neil Darashah leading Successor (Ryan Marshall up), winner of the Kakatiya Cup

Successor (Ontario-Lakes Of Killarney) stamped his superiority as a true sprinter when the 7 year old from the stables of young Neil Darashah, romped home in the Kakatiya Cup, a terms race for horses 4 year olds and upwards, which featured Saturday’s races at Hyderabad. The Bangalore raider, Successor, the oldest of  the six runners in the race, was sent into the race as the firm favourite.

Windsor Manor called the shots in front, followed closely by Guiding Light, while Successor was held handy in third, close to the inner rails. As the field of six turned for home, Successor moved freely along the rails and looking at the manner in which he extended his stride, jockey Ryan Marshall who was astride, did not look to have a job on hand. Kohinoor Wish started to raise a gallop late and pushed behind Windsor Manor to occupy the runner-up berth.

L.V.R.Deshmukh trained Vijay Monarch (Diffident-Post Impressionist) lifted the A.P.Race Horse Owners Association Trophy, the supporting event of the day. Jockey P.A.Culhane, the rider of Vijay Monarch, preferred to settle his mount in second, behind El Paso while Malabar Prince and the favourite Don Valentino followed them a further two lengths behind. Vijay Monarch got alongside El Paso as they straightened up and surged ahead quickly to open a gap of over a length and a half. Malabar Prince came with a sustained run inside the last 100 metres and bridged the gap fast but fell short by a whisker at the wire. Don Valentino and El Paso passed the winning post together to take the third and fourth spots respectively.

Trainer Donald Netto was the only professional to score a double. He saddled winners in both the divisions of the Telangana Cup. Chal Bhai Chal (Green Smith-Racing Dream) pulled off a popular victory in the higher division. Making a swift move to get to a striking position, in fourth, as the field traversed the final turn,  jockey Imran Khan, on the favourite shot ahead on the wide outside. Kohinoor Victory threw a challenge but found the winner too good and settled for the runner-up berth.

Illustrator (Young Senor-Truly Scrumptious) beat his eleven rivals comprehensively, in the lower division. Jockey Deep Shanker who had a chance mount, replacing Imran Khan, pulled off a runaway victory on Illustrator. As the field raced into the home stretch almost seven of the dozen runners were in a line and Illustrator was the one who was striding the best and drew away to win by a big margin of five lengths. Fearless Mission and Dixie Bell finished second and third respectively in a photo finish.

K.S.V.Prasad Raju’s Grigori (Hymn-Steinby) scored an upset victory over the favourite Major Luck, in the lower division of the Jockey Kavan Kariappa Mrmorial Cup. Major Luck was looking to get the 1000 m dash from start to finish, coming into the straight, a clear four lengths in front. Grigori started to offer a stiff challenge but was lugging in throughout the straight. Apprentice P.Sai Kumar did well to get Grigori on even keel and pip Major Luck on the last stride, to score his maiden victory.

The thirteenth attempt for S.Habeebullah’s Yours Truly (Case Law-Divine Honey) turned out to be a lucky  one. The filly picked her maiden victory, in the lower division, the concluding race of the day. Yours Truly set out in front from the start with Star Striker in chase. The two got to fight out throughout the home straight and Yours Truly held on gamely by a ‘neck’.

K.V.Srinivas’s Golden Star (Oath Cypress Hills), who had not made it to the board in all her nine runs, got her strides right to win the Ballerins Star Plate, the first race of the day. Sun Ray running in second, behind the leader Trigger Happy, till the top of the straight, finished second ahead of Communicate. Nano Tribute was withdrawn before the race.

Speedtosucceed (Don Michelleto-Speedy) from the yard of Anupam Sharma ran true to his name to pick his maiden win, in the lower division of the Perceived Value Plate. The favourite Great Warrior surged ahead to take charge nearing the distance board but that was momentary as Speedtosucceed accelerated well under Carlus Henrique to wrap it up. The Third Eye was withdrawn before the race.

M.V.Narayana Rao’s Turf Attack (Sharp Attack-Unscripted) got up in the nick of time to get the better of the favourite Dazzling Prince in the shadow of the winning post to lift the higher division.