- india's first & foremost horse racing portal


By Mirror Image | 23 Oct 2016 | MYSORE

Mr Byram N Jeejeebhoy, Capt. Jamshed J Appoo, & Trainer S Padmanabhan leading Ice Glacier (David Allan Up), winner of The Mysore Derby (Gr.1)

The 42nd edition of the Mysore Derby (Gr.1) produced an astounding finish in front of a mammoth crowd on Sunday. S.Padmanabhan trained Ice Glacier (Arazan-Icebreaker / Exhilaration) ridden brilliantly by David Allan halted the winning streak of Serjeant At Arms. Trainer Padmanabhan who is a master at placing his wards judiciously and pulling out the best results in Classics led in his 89th Classic victor.

The presence of Serjeant At Arms that already had three Classic wins in its bag including the Bangalore Derby to complement its unbeaten streak from five starts had resulted in the field for the Blue Riband of the season reduced to just five runners. Serjeant At Arms was the overwhelming favourite at 4-1 ‘on’. Ice Glacier was the next best at sevens while the other three available at longer odds.

Into The Spotlight that donned the role of pacemaker for Ice Glacier set off in front right from the start. Amber Crown raced second followed by Ice Glacier, Bold March and Serjeant At Arms. As they went through the back stretch Into The Spotlight gained momentum to increase the pace. Passing the half way stage Ice Glacier made a move to get to second. Even before turning for home David Allan showed urgency and took Ice Glacier to the front. Inside the last 400 metres Bold March got to chase Ice Glacier and Serjeant At Arms started to move up from the outside. In the final furlong Serjeant At Arms that looked to be travelling well came under pressure and Sandesh had to go for the stick. David Allan used all his riding skills to squeeze out that extra from Ice Glacier and brilliantly held on by three parts of a length. Ice Glacier stopped the clock at 2:01.32 seconds which was fractionally better than the record that stood in the name of Field Marshall for the last five years. Bold March finished third and Amber Crown filled the frame.

The Poonawalla farm had always sent out Classic winners every year from the time Red Cockade started it in the year 1975. The farm had drawn a blank this year and their only chance was the Mysore Derby before the year came to a close. “I was very nervous before the race and kept my fingers crossed” said Mr.Zavaray Poonawalla after the race. “I am happy that we have kept up the tradition”, he added.

The entire winning team of Mr.Byram N Jeejeebhoy, Mr.Zavaray Poonawalla, Mrs.Simone Poonawalla Pandole and Mr.Jamshed J Appo had come down to witness the race and were overjoyed at the turn of events.

Super Force (Eljohar-Care Africa / Mukteshwar Stud) from trainer Faraz Arshad’s stables that was that was finding it hard to get the required momentum for almost seven months from the time she won last came with a forceful finish in the closing stages to win the Bangalore Turf Club Trophy. Sea Fairey was briefly headed by Topspot on entering the straight. Super Force started to make a bid from the wide outside. Inside the last 100 metres Super Force came with a flying finish under Neeraj Rawal to down Sea Fairey by a length. Topspot stayed on in third ahead of Smile Stone.

Jockey Prashant P Dhebe who is having a good run this season rode a double to reach the top of the jockey’s championship tally along with John. He rode Rajesh Narredu trained Supreme Dominator (Officer-Tanzanite Lady / Ruia Stud) to lift the Hyderabad Race Club Trophy. Supreme Dominator that had not won a race for the last 15 months had got to striking position in third as they rounded the final turn. Once on the straight he shot to the front and grabbed the lead. Alexandrite was up with a challenge and Speed Hawk looking for a passage from behind. Southern Fantasy made way between horses and came charging towards Supreme Dominator but failed to catch up by a neck. Alexandrite took the third spot and Speed Hawk the fourth.

Dhebe was astride Prasanna Kumar’s Exemplar (Ace-Indistinto / Poona Stud) in the lower division of the Royal Calcutta Turf Club Trophy. Exemplar shot to the front with a furlong left and won warding off the favourite Carinosa. Masada and El Matador filled the frame in that order.

Padmanabhan led in Sang Royal (Burden Of Proof-Running Flame / Kunigal Stud) in the higher division. Arrive was out in front and had opened a big lead entering the straight. Approaching the last 200 metres Ariive was shortening its strides and Perfectebony surged ahead. Sang Royal was driven out by David Allan from the outside and after a duel prevailed by three parts of a length at the finish. Golden Bow warmed up late and finished on in third. Markus Sittikus ended up fourth.

Praelector (Tariq-Oh So Romantic / Equus Stud) that had moved to Mysore from Western India and joined M.Bobby’s stables won the Royal Wertern India Turf Club Ltd., Trophy. Praelector had finished a suggestive third in its only run on this track last month and was fancied for the sprint race, landing up as the second favourite. Racing third behind Majestic Queen and Legal Legacy till the top of the straight Praelector surged ahead effortlessly and kicked on till the winning post. Hostess narrowed down the lead to finish second. Lucky Pineapple and Rich Rivival finished third and fourth respectively. Carbonado was withdrawn near the starting gates.

Warren Singh trained Manta Ray (Diffident-Zephyrella / Yeravada Stud) that had last won exactly a year ago came good to lift the division I of the Madras Race Club Trophy. Croziet and Happy Hours raced together followed by Manta Ray. Inside the last 300 metres Trevor made his move on Manta Ray from the outside and the 6 years old flashed past effortlessly and won from Tea Wid Me charging in late. Croziet finished third while Protector Of Paris filled the frame. Adriphos and Indian Legend were non-starters in the race.

Bipin V Salvi trained Trust Me Boy (Royal Gladiator-Arthi /Manjri Stud) edged out Reformer in a close finish in the lower division, the opener of the day. Reformer went on a start to finish bid and stayed ahead after thwarting Cannes’s bid in the last 200 metres. Trust Me Boy improved from the outside and with Shobhan Babu riding out beat Reformer close to the winning post. The favourite Masters Glory after trailing in second last till the top of the straight came in late to finish third.

Jockey K.Raja Rao who had not had a winner for a long time rode Faraz Arshad’s Rock N Rolla (Diffident-Frequency / Yeravada Stud) to victory in the Delhi Race Club Trophy. Rock N Rolla shot to the front on entering the straight and kicked on gamely till the winning post. Oye Como Va rallied on to finish second. Flying Prince and Break On Thru finished third and fourth respectively.