- india's first & foremost horse racing portal

The Indian Turf Invitation Cup (Gr.1) Facts & Trivia. Read more….

02 Mar 2019

• 0 – Number of horses from the older lot to win the Invitation Cup. However, 11 horses have managed to come on board since the time the race was opened for older horses. On Sunday, Kangra (defending champion)& Desert God will run to achieve the first-ever Invitation Cup double.

• 0 – Since the year Invitation Cup was opened for the older horses, not a single top-rated horse has won it. Onassis & Dandified (both 125 points in 2013), Toroloco& An Acquired Taste (both 125 in 2014), Amazing Grace (134 in 2015), Quasar (127 in 2016), Alaindair (114 in 2017) and Alaindair& Temerity (both 125 in 2018) failed to hit the wire first despite being the highest rated horse in the field. On Sunday’s race, Desert God (rated 120) is the top-rated horse.

• 02:27.5 – Time Kangra took to hit the wire in Invitation Cup, at Kolkata last year. This is not only the fastest time across all 56 editions, but also a track record still intact at Kolkata. Interestingly, the track records for 4 different distances were broken at Invitation weekend last year. The slowest time in Invitation Cup has also incidentally come at the same track – 02:40.9 by Desert Warrior in 1990.

• 20 – Lengths verdict of Southern Empire's victory in the 2007 Invitation Cup at Kolkata. It is the longest winning margin in race's history. However, in the last 11 editions, no horse has managed to win by more than 2 3/4 lengths.

• 22 – Number of favourites to have won this race in 56 runnings. Though, not a single favourite has won in the last 6 years.

• 24 – Number of wins registered by Mumbai based horses. Bangalore is a close second with 21. Kolkata is a distant third with 6 winners, Chennai 3 and Hyderabad 2.

• 30 – Number of Invitation Cup winners who had wontheir previous start. This year, only 4 horses are coming fresh after a win.

• 22 – Number of horses to achieve an Indian Derby – Invitation Cup double. Star Superior on Sunday will run to become the 23rd entrant in that list.

• 43 – Number of years since a Rig won the Invitation Cup. Commanche (RR Byramji trained) won it in 1976 at Chennai. Notably Star Superior, Salazaar& The Invader are also rigs. Colts have won this race 30 times and Geldings & Fillies have won it a dozen times each.

• 3 – Instances where fillies won back-to-back Invitation Cups - Forest Fantasy (’98) & Running Flame (’99), Moonlight Romance (’11) & In The Spotlight (’12) and Temerity (’17) & Kangra (’18). There are three fillies (or mares) in Sunday’s race. Kangra, Adjudicate & Tudor Treasure will lead the female contingent to achieve the first ever fillies-hat trick of Invitation Cup.

• 1 – Number of greys to have won this race i.e. Revelation at Kolkata in 1985. Unfortunately, there is no grey participating this year. Horses with Bay/Dark Bay coat lead with 42 wins followed by Chestnuts with 13.

• 5 – Number ofInvitation Cup winners who previously didn’t ran the Indian Derby. Out of 8 horses from classic crop in this year’s renewal, there are six horses who didn’t run 2019 Indian Derby.

• 12 – Number of horses from RR Byramji’s yard to have come with flying colours. It is the highest for a trainer followed by S Padmanabhan with 5 winners. Padmanabhan has half brothers Desert God & Indian Pharaoh representing him on Sunday.

• 7 – Number of times Pesi Shroff went past the post first as a jockey. Among the jockeys riding on Sunday, YS Srinath has two winners. Suraj Narredu, A Sandesh, David Allan, Neeraj Rawal & PS Chouhan have a winner each.

• 2 – Number of course-and-distance winners in Sunday’s race. Half-brothers Desert God (twice, President Of India Gold Cup 2016 & 2018) & Indian Pharaoh (Golconda Derby 2018) have won a 2400m race at Hyderabad. However, Indian Pharaoh is only course-and-distance winner on the winter track as Desert God won both races on the monsoon track.

• 10 - Other than Tudor Treasure & Bradfield College, rest 10 horses have won a group race beyond 2000matleast once.

• 7 – Number of Deccan Derby or Golconda Derby winners to have won the Invitation Cup – Chaitanya Chakram, Delage, Sweeping Success, In The Spotlight, Tintinnabulation, Quasar & Desert God. But only Sweeping Success won the Invitation at Hyderabad. From the classic crop, Star Superior & Indian Pharaoh are Deccan Derby & Golconda Derbywinners respectively.

P.S.: - The facts, figures, numbers, records and other data were compiled with the help of “A Legacy Of Champions”, a book written on The Indian Turf Invitation Cup By Major Srinivas Nargolkar (Retd).

Recent News


Former Committee member of Mysore Race Club and racehorse owner Apana Subaiya passed away due to a severe heart attack. Mr Subaiya will also be remembered as being a part-owner in the unbeaten winner of the Indian Derby, War Hammer. Indiarace offers its sincere condolences to the bereaved family.


Kolkata race scheduled to be held Saturday 9th December 2023 have been postponed to Tuesday 12th December 2023 due to incessant rain rendering the underfoot condition of the race track. Acceptances with order or running as published will hold good.


The Board of Appeal at the meeting held on 05/12/2023 having considered the grounds of Appeal submitted by Jockey Akshay Kumar and the submissions made by him and his spokesperson Mr. Y S Srinath, resolved to dismiss the Appeal lodged by Jockey Akshay Kumar and the order passed by the Stewards of the Hyderabad Race Club stands i.e. suspension of “A” Jockeys License granted to him under HRC Rules of racing w.e.f. 7th December 2023 upto and including 26th February 2024.


Due to incessant rains rendering the track not conducive for racing, the Stewards of the Madras Race Club have decided to cancel the races scheduled to be held on Thursday, 30 November 23 and Friday 1st December 2023.


Mumbai races scheduled to be held today Sunday 26th November 2023 have been postponed to Thursday 30th November 2023. The same card shall hold good.


Trainer Altaf Hussain passed away today afternoon on Thursday 23rd Nov 2023. Indiarace offers its sincere condolences to the bereaved family. Trainer Altaf Hussain won back to back Indian Derby with Desert Warrior in 1990 and Starfire Girl in 1991.


Due to incessant rain rendering the Track not conducive for racing, The Stewards of the Madras Race Club have decided to postpone Chennai races to be held on Saturday 25th November 23 to Thursday 30th November 23. Published Acceptance holds good and fresh declarations will be on Tuesday 28th November 23.